Marvel’s 4 Netflix Series’ To consist 13 episodes each; Will Shoot In NYC


Yesterday we saw the first update on Marvel’s upcoming 4 individual Netflix series’ (not including the “Defenders” mini-series to follow) from Kevin Feige that fans have seen in a long time, and now it seems thanks to the momentum we have another update.

Here is the official press release that was revealed this morning:

“This pioneering agreement calls for Marvel to develop four serialized programs totaling 52 one-hour episodes culminating in a four to eight episode mini-series programming event. Led by a series focused on “Daredevil,” followed by “Jessica Jones,” “Iron Fist” and “Luke Cage,” the epic will unfold over multiple years of original programming, taking viewers deep into the gritty world of heroes and villains of Hell’s Kitchen, New York. Netflix has committed to a minimum of four, thirteen episodes series and a mini-series event in which the Marvel characters from the first four series team up as “The Defenders,” much like “The Avengers.””

That’s right, 52 episodes. That gives us 13 episodes a piece of our 4 heroes, culminating in “a four to eight episode mini-series” called The Defenders.

Its great to see Marvel is able to film these shows in the place these characters call home, that alone will add a great level of believably and continuity to each show. Still no word on an official release date, but it is comforting to see the release order.